February 3, 1998

League of Private Property Voters Names Champions and
Enemies of Congressional Vote Index

(BATTLE GROUND, WASHINGTON) - The League of Private Property Voters (LPPV) today named 35 US Senators and 214 Representatives as Champions of Private Property Rights. It also named 34 Senators and 110 Representatives as Enemies of Private Property Rights.

The 1998 Vote Index rates the first session of the 105th Congress: Members of the House on twelve key property rights votes and Senators on 6 key votes plus Co-sponsorship of S 781, the Omnibus Private Property Rights Act.

Key House roll call votes were Endangered Species Act, Biosphere and World Heritage Programs, Forest Service Roads funding, National Monument Designation, United Nations Land Designation, Private Property Rights - Local Land Use Decision Appeals, and Grazing Fees/Rangeland Management. Key Senate roll call votes were RS 2477 Rights of Way, Hardrock Mining Depletion Allowance and Public Lands fees, Ninth Circuit Court reorganization, Forest Service Roads funding, and American Heritage Rivers Initiative funding.

"These scores show that the issue of private property is a significant consideration as Members chose how to vote on legislation," said Chuck Cushman, chairman of LPPV. "As voters become more aware of how their private property rights are jeopardized every day in Congress, they pay more attention to how the Private Property Congressional Vote Index scores their elected officials. Being a Champion of Property Rights is becoming more important to Members of Congress with each congressional session."

To be named as a Champion of Property Rights, a Member must receive a 75% score or better. Among the Senators named were: Allard (R-CO), Bennett (R-UT), Burns(R-MT), Campbell (R-CO), Craig (R-ID), Enzi (R-WY), Gorton (R-WA), Gramm (R-TX), Grams (R-MN), Hatch (R-UT), Helms (R-NC), Hutchinson (R-AR), Hutchison (R-TX), Inhofe (R-OK), Kyl (R-AZ), Lott (R-MS), Lugar (R-IN), Murkowski (R-AK), Nickles (R-OK), Santorum (R-PA), Smith (R-OR), Stevens (R-AK), and Thomas (R-WY).

Among the Representatives named Champions were: Archer (R-TX), Armey (R-TX), Baker (R-LA), Bono (R-CA), Boswell (D-IA), Buyer (R-IN), Byrant (R-TN), Calvert (R-CA), Campbell (R-CA), Canady (D-FL), Cannon (R-UT), Chenoweth (R-ID), Coburn (R-OK), Condit (D-CA), Cox (R-CA), Crapo (R-ID), Cubin (R-WY), Danner (D-MO), Delahunt (D-MA), Doolittle (R-CA), Dunn (R-WA), Edwards (D-TX), Ensign (R-NV), Gallegly (R-CA), Gibbons (R-NV), Goode (D-VA), Hall (D-TX), Hansen (R-UT), Hastings (R-WA), Hayworth (R-AZ), Herger (R-CA), Hill (R-MT), Holden (D-PA), Kolbe (R-AZ), Largent (R-OK), McIntosh (R-IN), Metcalf (R-WA), Peterson (D-MN), Pickett (D-VA), Pombo (R-CA), Radanovich (R-CA), Riggs (R-CA), Ryun (R-KS), Sandlin (D-TX), Schaefer, D (R-CO), Schaffer, B (R-CO), Shadegg (R-AZ), Sisisky (D-VA), Skelton (D-MO), Smith, B (R-OR), Smith, L (R-WA), Solomon (R-NY), Stenholm (D-TX), Sununu (R-NH), Tauzin (R-LA), Taylor (D-MS), Taylor (R-NC), Traficant (D-OH), Turner (D-TX), Wamp (R-TN), and Young (R-AK).

To be named as an Enemy of Property Rights, a Member must receive a 30% score or lower. Among the Senators named were: Bingaman (D-NM), Boxer (D-CA), Bumpers (D-AR), Chafee (R-RI), Collins (R-ME), Daschle (D-SD), Feinstein (D-CA), Gregg (R-NH), Jeffords (R-VT), Johnson (D-SD), Kerrey (D-NE), Leahy (D-VT), Levin (D-MI), Murray (D-WA), Reid (D-NV), Snowe (R-ME), Wellstone (D-MN), and Wyden (D-OR).

Among the Representatives named Enemies were: Allen (R-ME), Baldacci (D-ME), Blumenauer (D-OR), Capps (D-CA), Castle (R-DE), DeFazio (D-OR), Dicks (D-WA), Farr (D-CA), Fazio (D-CA), Gephardt (D-MO), Hinchey (D-NY), Hooley (D-OR), Leach (R-IA), Rahall (D-WV), Sanchez (D-CA), Sanders (I-VT), Saxton (R-NJ), Schumer (D-NY), Skaggs (D-CO), Smith, A (D-WA), Stupak (D-MI), Vento (D-MN), and Visclosky (D-IN).

LPPV and the Congressional Vote Index are non-partisan. The Senate has five Republicans counted among the Enemies of Property Rights. The House shows 23 Democrats as Champions and 15 Republicans that are Enemies of Private Property Rights.

LPPV formed in 1990 to track Congressional votes on property rights issues. This is the 6th Vote Index published, with almost half a million copies of the 1995-96 Vote Index distributed. LPPV plans to mail a million copies of the 1998 Vote Index. Over 600 grassroots private property rights and Wise Use groups belong to LPPV and co-sponsor the Vote Index.

-- end --


Click here to go directly to the League of Private Property Voters pages

For More Information Contact:
American Land Rights Association
Tel: 360-687-3087
FAX: 360-687-2973


Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
All pages on this website are 1999-2001, American Land Rights Association. Permission is granted to use any and all information herein, as long as credit is given to ALRA.